Word Of The Moment #1

straws
Pick a Straw and Start Sucking

My favourite word at the moment is:


 

SYCOPHANT

Sycophant (plural sycophants)

  1. One who uses obsequious compliments to gain self-serving favor or advantage from another; a servile flatterer.
  2. One who seeks to gain through the powerful and influential.
  3. (obsolete) An informer; a talebearer.

Synonyms


 

A long-time favourite of mine, the word ‘sycophant’ describes so much and so many at this time, at least from inside my world-viewing-platform.

I don’t think they’ve discovered the gene mutation for sycophancy just yet.  But it’s safe to say the world will be a lot better off once that particular aberration is prevented from passing to future generations…

Shitty sycophancy – it’s Gotta Stop.

Anyway, that was my first ‘Word Of The Moment’ post.  I might do more.

AsGrayAsGray

* – Definition and synonyms sourced from Wiktionary.

11 thoughts on “Word Of The Moment #1

  1. I love the “Word of the Moment” idea, you should definitely do more. Also, don’t think I’m a sycophant but I love your blog haha 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for visiting and for the inspiration to ‘do more’. I don’t normally follow orders too well, but in this case, I might just do as you say.
      You are definitely not a sycophant, as that only applies when it’s not me on the receiving end of the servile flattery!!
      I’ll drop in on your blog again soon to share the love.
      All the best!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Sycophant” ranks right up there with ‘lickspittle’. Say, if one were to add ‘p’ to the beginning of ‘sycophant’ you’d have a ‘psycophant’. Wow, that’s some curious shit there…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I don’t believe in coincidences – and that ‘sycophant’/’psycophant’ thing is VERY curious shit indeed! Thanks for pointing it out, you are a beacon. And that’s not me being psychophantic.

      Like

  3. I do love the idea of this segment and that’s not being sychophantic. Looking forward to all the follow ups! …but it does leave me somewhat glum knowing that the more inexperienced generation of abbreviated vernacular will corrupt and weaken the wonder of this word and fate it to find a home in the ever so popular urban dictionary. We’re doomed to a world of unvoiced nitwits using their thumbs texting away their ability to intelligently convey a thought sans slang.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TY, YW, IRL, BRB, LOL!!, and YOLO!

      That right there is the only time my fingers have EVER produced that string of letters – in any combination. Look what you’ve gone and done!! You’ve ruined me, with just ONE comment…

      Prepare for another Word Of The Moment – I have a cracker ready to load up. 😉 (!)

      Like

Leave a Reply - if you want to...

