I Fucking Hate You, Australia

Captain Kirk Is Vewy Angwy
Clowns to the Left of me, Jokers to the Right

* – Originally posted back in March of 2014.  I’m re-posting because I’m angry again, and I have added some update.

Look what you’ve gone and done.  Like a spoilt child having a tantrum in the confectionery aisle…

I’m a bit very angry at present.  But I should be clear here – I don’t hate ‘Australia’, but I do (even though I know that hate is usually unwarranted and will probably one day make me sick and then kill me) hate the blind, ignorant, selfish, hypocritical cretins who aspire to be better than everyone else, and think they’re somehow special, and decided it was a good idea to vote for the current imbeciles running this country into oblivion.  Yeah, that’s right, I hate you – you know who you are…

That goes especially for all of you who are under 60 years of age who ‘believe’ that voting for ‘conservatives’ is a good thing – you have all been sucked in by persuasive language techniques; for the entirety of your lives.  You all live by the code of that wonderful howard-esque Australian invention, the dog-whistle.  And I hate you in an even-deeper-than-you-can-imagine fashion because of that.

Abbott and his LNP are so transparent and overt in their hatred for the environment, and for the legacy of certain non-destructionist Australian ‘icons’, and for common decency generally, and for all the non-elite low-calibre types – you know, the vast majority of us…

Here’s just a snapshot short-list of the loopy shit being perpetrated (or about to be) in the nation’s capital:

  • Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area dredging and spoil dumping (this and similar acts done for fossil interests)
  • Discarding of key manufacturing capabilities and entire businesses/industries (this and similar acts done for foreign corporate interests)
  • Lying about carbon pricing and its real and imagined impacts on the economy (fossils and foreign corporates again)
  • De-listing of portions of World Heritage forests in Tasmania (how wantonly spiteful, vindictive, destructive … selfish…)
  • Bowing to the demands of certain billionaires to dilute and remove mining super-profit taxes, helping to maintain and grow the divide between rich and poor (fossils and corporates, AGAIN)
  • Blatant disregard for those poor souls seeking refuge (referred to in bigot-ville as ‘illegal boat arrivals’ – they’re not even ‘people’) from their war-torn home countries or oppressed minority enclaves (all of this as a massive distraction from the other destructive acts, and as the easiest dog-whistle to blow)
  • There is “too much” protected vegetation in Australia, and Abbott strongly believes that the forestry industry needs free access to more timber (again, fossils, foreign corporates, and just for kicks – because destroying shit is FUN, and makes you a MAN, and WHO CARES ANYWAY?)
  • UPDATE (August 2014) – Abbott wants to kill the renewable energy industry and his government commissions a review of the Renewable Energy Target (RET). He receives the report from the review and hands it back for them to investigate the options of scaling back or scrapping the RET completely.  It looks doomed if he gets his way.

Just typing this is driving me even more insane than I was.  And I am ever closer to destroying the keyboard provided to me – I have key-punch callouses…

UPDATE (August 2014) – My key-punch callouses are recurring.

This is an aimless rant, I know, but I’m almost at my wit’s end.  The volume of insanity pouring out of the conservative government’s mouthpieces is like an avalanche of absolute bat-shit craziness.  And I seem to be surrounded, at least partly, by noisy sycophants who mindlessly nod and wink and agree with the craziness.

Why, oh, why, do we not have in our Constitution the requirement that our Prime Minister be Australian-born?  If we’d just been smart enough to include that minor little exclusionist condition, similar to the good old US of A, then we would not have to contend with the UK-born boat-arrival nut-job that we have now.  Australia has seemingly managed to get away with all sorts of racist policies in the past (and continually), so WHY didn’t we do THAT?

I fucking hate you, Australia – why is any of this Shit being tolerated?  Are we still not yet revolting?

AsGrayAsGray

41 thoughts on “I Fucking Hate You, Australia

  1. Rants are very satisfying. Hope you feel better. I couldn’t agree with you more about Tony Abbott. When he first became leader of the opposition I honestly thought the Liberal party would be doomed as a result. The fact he is now PM is embarrassing at the very least, horrifying at the worst.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel a little bit better for getting that out of my system, but I’ll only be fully cured of my malady when that man is gone from office.
      Like you, I thought he had no chance at the top job. I thought the same about Howard too. How wrong was I?!
      The whole affair is truly horrific…
      And we haven’t even got the new Senate installed yet. After July, things could get really, really bad.

      Like

  2. It will have to get a whole lot worse, to shake the complacency of the conservative voters, before it gets better. I just hope the damage is not irreversible. Abbott and his government are stealing our future to line their and their mates pockets.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Get out of my head, JackSpratt! Unfortunately, like you, I think that ‘the situation’ will need to deteriorate massively before most even give a damn enough to do anything other than just follow along blindly… Sad.

      Like

  3. Thank you I no longer feel I am alone in this world. Your rants are not rants they are truths. Thank you for speaking up.

    Like

    1. Thank YOU! It provides quite a degree of comfort to read your comment. I often feel that way too. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave your mark. Appreciated!

      Like

  4. Tony Abbott is a Narcissistic Sociopath Aspergers (CoMorbid)
    He recently said, himself and Obama are “On The Same Page”
    God HELP us !! Australian’s are being force fed US propaganda
    and unfortunately NEWS has become FANTASY !! Abbott has become another US foreign policy puppet (as was Howard) The boat arrivals are fleeing their homelands that have been ravaged by the US war machine – Australia is complicit !!
    The thing is our Government KNOWS that the world economy
    is about to crumble (harsh budget e.g. ) Anyone out there who wants to know the REAL truth about where we are headed ? Read
    Dr Jim Willie from Silverdoctors – Tony Abbott attended a Jesuit
    Collage as did Bill Shorten (read the Jesuit agenda it’s FRIGHTENING !! ) SO neither of them are in ANY way suitable
    to be RUNNING any COUNTRY !!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Man, this is awesome. I’m American so I have pretty much no idea what goes on with the rest of the planet, but I feel a bit more informed now. Like now I know your Prime Minister is not Australian. Also, I’m really sorry that your guys are listening to our guy because he’s a total dickhead and is effectively ruining OUR country, thereby ruining any others that follow in our unfortunate path.

    On a side note, I’d like to say that I really enjoy the comedy stylings of Jim Jefferies. (I really don’t know much about Australia. I did see “Kangaroo Jack”, but I don’t think that counts.) Enjoying your writing as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much!

      You know, I had never heard of Jim Jefferies. Just looked him up – almost his entire career has been in the US and UK, so he is almost unheard of here, but apparently he is in a movie made with some other Australian comedians that comes out next year. I will now go and waste some some time on YouTube to check out his stand-up. Thanks!

      And yes, ‘Kangaroo Jack’ should not be used as a basis for anyone’s understanding of Australia!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha, well no worries. I wouldn’t judge a country based on an Anthony Anderson movie (even though he’s great), but I’m glad you’re checking out Jim Jefferies. Honestly, if it weren’t for his accent I’d think he was Irish. But yeah, you definitely provided some nice international insight for me, so I thank you. It can only take one person to make America smarter, am I right?

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t be sorry – it’s not your fault! But seriously, the world is very full of idiots, and many of them like to make lots of money, or get elected, or vote…

      Like

  6. Urgh Abbott is awful but I think the Libs would have got in with or without him and the list of all the awful things they have done would be much the same. Bring on the next election, I hope people don’t forget all the betrayals in a hurry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re probably right – I think the ‘powers that be, that none of us can see’ wanted the Libs in, come hell or high water, and all they had was Abbott. A pretty shallow pool to choose from…
      And yes, bring on the next election, indeed! Or anything sooner that might bring down the house of lies, like a constitutional Section 44 disqualification. Now that would be something.

      Like

      1. Yeah the utterly biased Murdoch media saturation before the election wasn’t exactly helpful in helping Australia build and maintain a healthy democracy!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for the sub, nice rant, how did you know? Looks like we’re all subject to the conservative war machine at some point. I’ve lived in the U.S. as well as the E.U. and it doesn’t seem to make much of a difference, there is always some dip**** politician that wants to participate in the latest conflict for what ever dumb rea$on. Looking forward to rummaging through some more of your posts. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! Yep, we’re all in it, up to our necks, sometimes… Enjoy rummaging, thanks for following, and I’ll be over doing some rummaging at yours shortly!

      Like

  8. America is lost to the same Plutocratic ruling class puppet masters. It’s worse than 1984 and going to get even worse. They tighten the noose of invasive surveillance police state authoritarianism, and write new laws to steal the power from the people.( Let the Hunger Games Begin)

    . I hear the sound of guillotines in the distance. Depose the tyranny-restore our freedom. It is always all about the fucking money wherever you are-power and money, war profiteering and social control. Global Justice is what we all must demand, and systematically sabotage the infrastructure of their fucking .01% corporate crime factory. Glenn Greenwald and the intercept are our best friends. The truth is the foundation of justice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope your ears are right about the guillotines, and I hope that the blades start dropping before that 0.01% have had too much fun dispatching the rest of us. We are well and truly beyond the threshold of those Hunger Games. I fear the ‘fun’ is about to really ramp up…
      Yes, money. Yes, justice. Yes, truth.
      We shall see how things accelerate, explode, burn, and then emerge from the ashes. Fun times, indeed.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I agree with you. I wanted to like this post, but its not coming up with a like button. Tony Abbott probably has something to do with that.

    I think part of the problem is that people have become complacent and all too willing to believe media and cleverly worded wank fest speeches. How can anything change if people are too apathetic, and insome cases ignorant, to protest?

    Mum was telling me about the good Ol 60s and 70s where so many people protested, rebelled, rioted and the police gave up trying to arrest people because there were too many to arrest and nowhere to hold them. But these days, we can’t rock the boat can we? It’s easier to hide behind a dented keyboard, I’m guilty of it too.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for persevering through the abbott’s censorship and sabotage of my buttons!

        And yes, complacency and apathy… Dented keyboard (!) – you should see my keyboard! Keys hanging off by twisted springs, a bent chassis, and where is my my CapsLock gone? What do all those ‘F’ buttons do anyway?

        The revolution of the 60’s and 70’s was lost, or diluted, or washed away with money, or something… Sad.

        The weasel has left the burrow.

        Like

    1. Fixed!

      Yes, the aspirational voter; poor deluded fools, who think they will share in the spoils of power with the shysters who convinced them they have something to aspire to…

      Poor, deluded, fools.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As soon as I have coffee, I will switch tabs and fully read that poetry. I think this is a theme that needs to be rammed home – to inform people that an aspirational vote is a wasted vote, and that they are being taken for a ride… in an Audi with a bumper sticker… 😉

        Like

      2. Mate, I saw a classic example in Caloundra, which was an old crappy looking Hyundai excel with a “Vote Liberal” Sticker on the bumper… How much more aspirational can you get? 😯

        Cheers 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. How are you feeling now that Abbott has gone. I hope that complete dickhead just falls off the edge of the earth. At least its a reprieve from seeing his mug on the news though. In terms of making the country better though…what are your thoughts on Turnbull?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Funny you should ask, because, on a personal level, I have been surprised at how *underwhelmed* I’ve been since ‘it’ was deposed. I thought I’d be bouncing off the walls with excitement. But the sad fact is, it’s still the same ship leading the fleet, with only moderate re-assemblage of the crew…

      I too hope for the thing to completely go away, and perhaps he’ll be subjected to a good ol’ keel-hauling as he departs.

      My jury is still out on Turnbull. He’s still settling in and working out which of his colleagues he can afford to upset if he decides to move beyond the policies established by the abbott cronies.

      When you boil it down, though, he is still a politician, still in the party that wrecked so much, and has yet to even hint at positive changes to policy – so I am cynical. (Always with the cynicism…)

      Thanks very much for the comment! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply - if you want to...

